It’s Too Early To Get Used To Yet Another SpaceX Landing, Right?

I know, frequent landings of reusable rockets are critical to the long term business plan of SpaceX.  But I think it’s a little too early to think that time has come.

Yes, the company had its sixth successful landing early Sunday, August 14.  Yes, the company’s landing success rate this year is close to 70 percent.  But we do not yet have reusability.  The next step toward that comes next month when SpaceX intends to re-use one of its previously landed rockets for a satellite launching mission.

Here I’ve focused on how SpaceX missions have been doing on the landings, but there’s news on the docking front.  On Friday astronauts on the International Space Station will be installing an International Docking Adapter.  This will facilitate the docking of the SpaceX Crew Dragon capsule (as well as the Boeing Starliner) for when U.S. craft will once again be ferrying astronauts to the ISS.

There’s still a lot of new to all of this, after all we’re in the first year of landings like this:

If I found this ordinary today, I’d be worried that I’m tired of life.  I think I’ll need at least another year or two of regular landings for me to find this ordinary.

Leave a Reply

