Scientists Amongst Recent Freedom Medal Recipients

Usually some of the people recognized each year with the Presidential Medal of Freedom are scientists and/or engineers.  This year’s class continues that trend, recognizing the efforts of economist Robert Solow and physicist Mildred Dresselhaus.  They will be recognized during a White House ceremony on November 24.

Dresselhaus is currently a Professor of Physics and Electrical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  She has spent the bulk of her research career at MIT, with service as Director of the Department of Energy’s Office of Science.  She has also served as President of both the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.  The Medal of Freedom marks the latest of a long string of awards recognizing her work.

Solow is a Nobel Laureate in Economics, recognized for his work in economic growth theory.  He is largely credited for the exogenous model of economic growth – which considers external factors critical to economic growth.  Solow is also a distinguished professor at MIT.  Both he and Dresselhaus are Institute Professors Emerita at the Institute.

Congratulations to both of them.